Second edits


So last night, as I was watching two baseballs simultaneously, I got to thinking about the Carnival story. ( I know, I’m a bad mom.  Thinking on edits while watching my kids play but baseball does not hold my interest very well.)  In between hollering advice to 10 to 14 year old boys, my mind drifted to the current beginning of the story.

It is an impersonal account that I am going to need to make much more personal.  In other words,  I am scheduling a second rewrite on this.

A lot of my work goes this way.  I write it all down and dirty, then go back several times and expand or delete.  First rewrite is going well,  I still haven’t gotten to the conflict but i do know the ending.  I just have to fill in that gap, the very wide gap I still have.

The best thing about all of this is I am still learning. Every draft, ever piece of an idea I put on paper is one step closer to having something great.  I’m not going to stop.  I might be delayed in my goals but I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

