Starting off MY new year


Even though New Year’s Day is more than a month away,  I would like to start off my new year tomorrow.  Why? you might ask, well tomorrow I turn 36.  40 is looming in the not so distant future and believe it or not, my life is more than likely half over.  When you think of it that way, you look back on what you have already accomplished and wonder if you have done enough.

My crowning achievement so far is my boys.  They are teenagers (or almost). And I think I have done a pretty good job at raising them.  They are smart, funny, and have a lot to offer they world they will be living in.  I am trying to give them the skills that they will need to be successful and happy in life.

This past year I have made huge improvements in my writing.  From actually submitting my work, to writing out side my comfort zone, I have written things that I would not have  thought I could in years before.  While not paying markets, I have had two acceptances to online zines.  I have also gotten involved with the writing community.  Interning with Dagan Books doing slush work and Apex Book Company doing various eBook formatting and coordinating FB and Twitter posts will definitely increase my awareness on what is quickly becoming what I want to do with my life.

Perhaps the happiest thing that has changed this year is the realization that my wonderful CraftyMan is going to be up here with me soon.  Two years of online contact has left me no doubts at to who he is and what kind of person he is.  All I can say is I love him tremendously and want him HOME here with me.

I am looking forward to next year.

For one, I will continue submitting my stories.  I will have at lest 3 out every month.  I am hoping for at lest 1 professional sale ( 5¢ per word) next year along with some semi-pro stories.

My goal for novels are to complete Tyger’s Eye (mid January) and at least begin the third of the series (complete by about November/December of2011).  I also want to begin to edit Dragon Masque starting at about June of next year. My goal is to have Dragon’s Masque ready for submissions by January of 2012.

I would like to do more drawing in 2011, and to that end, I will keep a sketch pad with me more often. In other words, I need to stash some paper and pencils here at the office.  I’m not the greatest artist but I have always enjoyed drawing and painting.  I intend on increasing my time doing both of those this year.

Starting in December, 2010, I am going to dedicate one evening a week (at least) to more beadwork.  I have several projects that are still sitting around waiting on me to come back to.  Finishing them and working on some new projects will keep my mind flexible.  I also intend on putting up an Etsy shop.  As there are few opportunities to sell beadwork here where I live, hopefully I can pull in some sales.

Along with keeping up my blog, the kids, the house and research, I need to lose some weight.  So December 1, starts 45 min to 1 hour of walking or 30-45 minutes of some sort of exercise video.  My goal is to lose 20 pounds by May that is 3 pounds a month, plenty doable.

So that is what I plan for the next year, how about you?

 

4 responses to “Starting off MY new year

  1. Sounds doable. Luck!

    I’m mid process of cleaning up and finishing off things that are in the way or interfering with me being able to focus more on writing. The only thing I know for sure so far is I plan on writing A LOT more and getting subs out there. I also want to finish the writing course I just signed up for and I’m pretty sure I’ll be taking the second half of that too. That’ll take me till Sept.

    I want to learn to write more short stories and finish a novel series I’m working on. There are also a few non-fiction things on my list.

    gosh, I’m tired already. lol Bring on the coffee!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Starting off MY new year « The darker side of the fire. -- Topsy.com·

  3. Pingback: My first goal of 2011 « The darker side of the fire.·

Leave a Reply

