When you are on the right track


Kind of strange to think, after 36 years I have finally found what I want to do with my life.

A few months back I posted The Edge of the Water where I was reluctant to dip my toes into the wide world of publishing.  Well, if you haven’t noticed, a lot has changed since that last post.

I have had 2 acceptances on short stories. That has been such a HUGE boost to my confidence.

Second I have joined with 2 small publishers Dagan as a slush reader and Apex as eBook assistant and head of Apex Buzz group.  As an eBook assistant I format documents and load them onto various websites that sell Apex Books.  If you don’t know what a slush reader is, well, I read stories that are submitted to Dagan books and recommend them to the editor. In both areas I still have a lot to learn but I am enjoying every minute of it.

I am also involved in several Twitter Chats.  #zinechat, brainchild of Jaym Gates, gives writers a chance to ask questions of small press and ezine editors.  We have had some awesome conversations.  The next one will be December 14 with the editors of TTA Press: TTA Press publishes the magazines, Interzone and Black Static, and more.  Come and join us.

#UFchat is a Urban Fantasy themed discussion on the very popular genre. I have been participating in it for a few months and have been helping out with some research.  The chats are Saturday afternoons at 5 p.m. CST.  Not sure what this week’s theme will be.  Last week we talked about packs, mobs and collateral damage in honor of Black Friday.

And of course I am still writing.  My biggest transition is using the LSB a great writing tool where I am being gently forced into thinking more about where each story is going instead of just letting it wander.  Tyger’s Eye is coming along at about 5,000 words a week (usually more).  I have two short stories nearly finished.  Edits and submissions coming soon.

The #3forme will recommence for December.  Goals are my 12 Days of Christmas (3 French Hens), my In Situ story (will be finished this weekend) and my #20Spec submission.  Then I will be looking forward to January’s submissions and no, not sure what those will be yet.

I am loving what I am doing right now.  This is where I finally belong.

4 responses to “When you are on the right track

  1. First off, I agree with how positive this post is and I’m so happy to hear about how well you are doing! It gives me hope. I’m also dipping a little into the writing community but I can relate with what you wrote in “The Edge of the Water” – only I’m happy to hear that you’ve made the plunge. I’ll be cheering you on!
    I also like what I learn from reading your posts. LSB looks like a great tool – one for me to keep in mind. I’ve participated a little in #UFchat and I like seeing what’s being said. I’ve not participated in #zinechat. Most of all, congrats on having two short stories accepted and being involved with the publishers. Great opportunities all around for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

