It’s starting to feel a lot like Christmas


I am not a holiday person.  I don’t like the hustle and bustle of getting everything just right before the next dinner/get together with family, friends, coworkers etc. I don’t like crowds, bright lights, and lots of noise. I don’t like picking up on the sensation that people show up just because they have to. Therefore, for me, most holidays are something to be endured for the sake of kids, family and friends.

If I haven’t been too excited about Christmas, sorry. When you spend a week alone and then a week trying to catch up with kids, how they are doing in school, social life, etc. time seems to slide right past you.  Suddenly I want to turn back the calendar a month and at least try to enjoy some of the holiday. I’m sure I’m not the only one.

I think the last three months should be just a solid holiday. After all, once school starts in September, it is all a rush of Halloween-Thanksgiving-Christmas anyway. As soon as the shelves are cleared of the notebooks and pencils, you have the Halloween candy and costumes, followed shortly by Thanksgiving decorations, followed only a week later by Christmas things even before October is over.  Can’t we have one holiday before piling it all on at once?

So I get annoyed and mostly Scrooge like during the holidays. I looks at people taking shopping carts full of things out of stores and grumble that my pockets are not deeper and go about my business.  My kids are great about it though, only a few things on their lists because they know either of their parents can’t afford a lot this year. When asked, they reply with a shrug and maybe a few things along with the words “don’t worry about it.”

Luckily, I got a Christmas bonus at work this year and will be able to get a bit more than last year, but I haven’t started shopping yet.  I might take some time tomorrow morning and go but it will have to be done this week. I’ll have the boys again Friday or sometime Saturday, not sure yet so guessing it all has to be done by Thursday.

I did start my yearly scrub-everything-holiday-season-cleaning last week.  I tackle one room at a time and pull out the furniture, vacuum wash baseboards, sweep the cobwebs, and straighten up.  (I’m not the best housekeeper but the house isn’t dirty, just cluttered again.) But as I tackled the living room this morning, I got to thinking about the tree, Christmas tree that is.

With all the running this week, the boys and I had not had time to drag out the 6 foot monster and figure out what limb goes on what level. While it takes an hour to decorate the tree, it takes almost 2 to sort and assemble the darn thing. I have space for it, I just didn’t want to fuss with it myself. But I thought of another option – a smaller tree.

So while doing errands this morning, I went to the second hand shop and there it was, a little 3 1/2 foot tree with a few cheap ornaments and lights.  I spent $5 on the silly thing and promptly took it home. I cleared off the top of the console TV and went to the shed to pull out the boxes of decorations. In less than an hour, I have a sparkly little tree decorated in blue and silver.

I look at it and can’t help but smile.

Leave a Reply

