The Domino Effect


On Twitter today I heard @Inkhaven say that a choice a year ago changed her life. That got me thinking about the domino effect.  How one little choice, one event, has such a huge effect on someone’s life.

A big one for me happened only a few months ago when, after months of kind of lurking on Twitter, I became involve in the publishing world.

First, I offered to become an eBook assistant for Apex Book Company. Then a few months later, I became head of the Buzz group. What I am learning is more valuable than the potential pay I could earn somewhere.  Learning the ins and outs of formatting and coordinating tweets and facebook posts with things that go on with the Apex crew will be things I will probably be glad to know later on.  I am eager to learn more and hope to have a long career with Apex.

Next I became involved in #UFchat, a weekly tweetchat that happens every Saturday afternoon at 3 p.m. cst.  We talk about Urban Fantasy aspects in writing and meet some of the authors who write it.  @InkGypsy in the head and she made me co-mod officially on the 18th.

After hearing another friend who was working incredibly long hours and trying to publish an anthology along with husband and kid, I offered myself as a minion.  My offer was taken by @Inkedhistorian and she put me to work reading slush for the In Situ anthology for Dagan Books. As an intern there I am sure I will learn more about anthologies.  I will always remember Carrie’s comment on Twitter about my slush reading abilities: It was something about me being far pickier than she expected and that was a very good thing.

Along the way I have joined in other chats including #zinechat, #steampunkchat, #sifichat, #litchat and others.  Sometimes I listen and others I join right in.  But another I sort of fell into was #sffwrtcht. Science Fiction Fantasy Writer’s Chat is held every Wednesday at 8 p.m. and is hosted by BryanThomasS. We have a great schedule of guests lined up, writers, editors, podcasters, etc. right up until the end of March.  Very excited!

Just as an experiment, I started my own chat one afternoon. #rdmwrtdisc or Random Writing Discussion was just a way to pass the time. And pass it did.  3 hours in fact covering all sorts of topics all random without any script of where we wanted it to go. It was great fun.  I tried it again this week, but idiot me used the wrong hashtag.  Not quite as engaging but still interesting.

And this is just the beginning.  I have people asking me for advice on manuscripts, talking out ideas with other writers, being included in future plans…

I just have to be careful that I don’t over extend myself, because it would be so very easy to have nothing but a pile of dominoes. 😀

Thanks to all of my friends who have pushed, shoved, and encouraged me to take my first steps into writing and publishing.  It is a grand adventure, so feel free to share your experiences.

 

3 responses to “The Domino Effect

  1. You’ve done very well and made a lot of progress. Keep ‘er going. Just don’t forget to also write! lol I don’t know about you but, sometimes, I get distracted by all the ‘other’ things I’m doing that involve writing but actually take away from my writing time itself. How do you deal with that being this busy?

    Like

    • I have time to write. Solely because I have a job that, when I am not busy, allows me to use that time for other things. Mainly, writing. I also only have my kids every other week, so that makes a huge difference too. My boys are older and don’t require as much care (but I think they require more attention) and can pick up the house chores. Weeks they are not here, I don’t make much of a mess so not difficult to keep things going.

      Really there are times I want the distraction. Sometimes a story has to sit for a while before it gets sorted. By not thinking of it, I can let it do its thing.

      And really there is a huge difference (for me at least) in what I was writing this time last year and what I am writing now. I am learning so much and all because I volunteered some time.

      It is really a great thing.

      Like

  2. I want to become more involved in events and the community too. I think I’ll learn a lot, just as you’ve outlined. I don’t dare to commit to anything right now but, once things settle, then I’ll be able to commit and follow through.

    Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

