Personal Investment


Today I got to do something that I rarely get to do, stop at a book store.  Now for some, this might seem confusing but others will know what I am getting at.

I live in a very small community and the nearest book store is 30 minutes away, the opposite way of where I work.  The books store that was in the town that I work in, closed two years ago and except for a few second hand stores, there are no used books either.

I also have a very limited budget, just like a lot of other people.  Going the other direction for groceries just so I can stop at the book store is often counter productive, so mainly I just don’t go.

I have to make do with what I buy over the internet, what my mom finds, and what I can grab at the library sales and yard sales.  The new smell of ink has already faded, and someone has already opened the pages.  While the books are new to me, they are not “new.”

I love books, if I had my way, I’d probably spend my grocery money on books.  Do I really need to eat?  Well, maybe sometimes but I have caught myself slipping  an extra $20 across the counter at the books store and eating peanut butter sandwiches for two weeks for lunch.  It is hard for me to leave a book store without something and usually it’s more than I can afford.

But today I had to go to a class about 2 hours away from work.  On the way back, I passed the book store.  While I have no money budgeted, I had to stop.

I don’t think I’ll ever look at a bookshelf full of books the same ever again.

You see, I was not just seeing the books this time.  I was seeing the people behind the books.  I saw a few titles that I have spoken to the authors.  I know some of the agents that represent those books. It is not just words on a page anymore.  It is a whole community.

I picked up a copy of “Werewolves and Shapeshifters“, my friend Mercedes is in there.  I’ve read reviews on “Geist“.  I have even twittered to C.E. Murphy.

If I had had $200 I still could not have bought all the books that I wanted to.

I ended up walking out empty handed (sorry but I can’t this week), promising myself, that after winter is over, I’m going to go back, at least once a month, to support my friends.

Oh and if you would not mind, if I could bother you all for just a moment, could you vote for my little story at http://bit.ly/fQew7E I used my real name: sarah hendrix

Thank you very much

Leave a Reply

