Define Creativity


Creativity is one of those little quirks that confuses a lot of people. It isn’t something you can see, or feel, or touch. It has no wight, yet it can be a heavy burden. Those who have it fret over it, and those who don’t aren’t always sure how to deal with those who do.

There are a lot of misconceptions about creative people.  Many of us dabble in several different areas of art.  Some are good with making money. Others see a tactical advantage in a grim situation. But no matter what kind of creative person you are;  it all boils down to  seeing a possibility.

That’s it.  Kind of simple really.

Possibilities are all around us. Ask any writer who’s eyes suddenly pop open when they are hit with an idea, or a photographer who is always carrying a camera.  Creativity is sometimes putting two unrelated things together into something different.  It is putting an extra gear in the clockwork to see what difference it makes.  It is trying and sometimes failing.

There is a lot of failing in creativity. Ask a sculptor how many pieces he or she had to redo so that the ones on display are “just right.”  As a writer, I have rejection slips.  I know a lot of people who have more.  But I’m not afraid of them. Rejection is just another word for Keep Trying.

For all of my creative friends.  Keep trying.  The possibilities are endless. 😀

2 responses to “Define Creativity

  1. Thank you very much for this post. It served to remind me that, however much I sometimes doubt it, I am a creative person.

    The two points that you hit on that very much describe my processes were; POSSIBILITIES and making seemingly UNRELATED THINGS FIT TOGETHER.

    I had actually figured out that those two things were both very important to me years ago.

    Thank you so much for reminding me at a time when I have been re exploring my own creativity and what that means to me.

    Like

    • You are very welcome, and we all have to remind ourselves of that at some point. I know that I needed it this week.

      I hope that things keep going forward, and remember never give up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

