Word Count April 13– Hey wait, I finished it?!


So I’ve been working on Fear Bound quite a bit over the past two weeks. It’s been exciting and crazy at the same time.

You see, this is the first part of a LONG series- a mashup of Urban fantasy and science fiction. It started with some RP that a few friends and I did a few years ago. I developed a character, and suddenly there was a world and as we played I could see the stories develop around her.

For me that’s what writing is. Characters and stories. I like mine (characters) pretty fucked up by life, by bad choices, by the bad guy. Broken, they have to pull it all together in order to save the world. They do, most of the time.

I started this story a while back but stalled, as I didn’t know exactly what direction I wanted to take it. A couple of weeks ago, I pulled it out, read my notes and started putting words on the page again. Oh it felt good- like really dark chocolate. My original plan was to only write 500 words a day, but once I started I couldn’t stop.

My previous weeks totals.

As you can see I was chugging along nicely. But then Tuesday came along.

weekend total 1119 Sat and Sunday

Monday 744 – sorry got distracted with events in Boston 😦

Tuesday  goal to hit 20K.  goal reached?

YES!

3023 words and finished the story with a word count of 21509!

 

That’s right. I finished it.

It’s the longest thing I’ve written in two years. For some, that isn’t going to seem like much, however, for me it’s HUGE. I’ve had a block and nothing I wrote excited me. Hell, I’m still riding the high. I’m excited about writing again.

Wednesday – 2 400 + words articles  5 pieces of slush (reading)

The rest of the week is going to be slush reading for Crossed Genres and I think I’ll pull out Where There is Water. I’ve got an idea that will make this story work- I think.

 

3 responses to “Word Count April 13– Hey wait, I finished it?!

  1. Pingback: A writer’s distractions | Courage takes fear·

Leave a Reply

