In need of a Wiki – worldbuilding delimas


I’ve been sick the past couple of weeks with a cold/sinus/headache thingie for the the past week. Horrible sore throat, post-nasal drainage, slight cough and some fever so I’ve not really gotten a lot done wordwise or beadwise.

For the first time in 3 years I missed the Shock Totem flash contest. I had several meeting for the day job and as I said I wasn’t feeling well. It was an interesting prompt though, but I didn’t get an idea. I kind of miss it.

Haven’t heard back yet on my submission, maybe that’s a good sign? *crosses fingers.

At home, I have a necklace waiting on me to finish along with a beaded purse that needs repair.

But I have been working a bit in the Shattered Soul universe. Fear Bound– that novella I finished a few weeks ago- is an origins tale. I’m letting the story sit for a while as it sparked some awesome ideas. Those ideas however are going to take some very careful planning on my part to pull off. So, I started some outlining.

Yea, me, the queen of pantsing outlining?

You better bet I’m outlining this!

This idea of mine is going to be complicated and has to be presented over several stories and books. I have to set it up so that this event is semi-tranparent to the readers but the MC has no clue. I’ll have to be pretty careful as I might go too far either way and miss the expected outcome.

So most of this past week’s work has been on an outline that will encompass  at least 2 novellas and 3 novels to start with.  I’m sure there’s some short stories to be found in this time frame too but this is just a start.

But I’ve run across a problem. My notes are starting to jump around as I realize I need to make notes on different factions, races, historical events, characters and various other information that while not crucial to actual stories is crucial to the world itself.

In other words- I’m world building and putting it on paper is turning out to be a mess.

I could put it on things like notecards or a very large word document, however, I’m not sure how all of that will work out in the long run. So I’m considering a private wiki.

Yes, a wiki.

If you’ve ever done any sort of research online, you know that at some point in time you will run across a wiki page. For the most part wikis are nice because people can add information to an article.  However, because people can add to an article doesn’t always make it true. If you can verify information from other sources on a wiki, they are probably correct.

One of the great things about wikis are its ability to link to other wiki pages. So when I’m writing about dragons on one page I can link to the page of characters of names, places and times without having a long document that I have to scroll down. I can even link it to other wiki pages if I so choose.  (and yes probably going to do this as a compare/contrast for historic events).

Now this is going to be a private wiki. Unless I want other people to take a look, it will be for my eyes only. There’s a lot of different programs out there–some free. some not. I’ve looked a a few but am still looking for recommendations. (yes I’d like free)

So what wiki program do you use and why?

One response to “In need of a Wiki – worldbuilding delimas

  1. First off I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question in
    which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head
    before writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to
    be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

