Why Novemember is Crazy!


Every year I have this amazing plan to actually finish my NaNoWriMo project.  For those who don’t know what NaNo is, it’s National Novel Writing Month. The challenge is to kick writers into gear and get 50,000 words on a novel on the page. I’m not sure how long it’s been going on, but it’s been around a few years and many of my writer friends look forward to it every year.

Every year I sign up, begin to plan, and never hit that 50,000 word goal. But you know what, I’m okay with that.

November always turns out to be crazy for me.  First there’s always slush to read for both Crossed Genres and now Goldfish Grimm. Next are my duties to help out Carrie Cuinn on her classes and take some of them myself.  I’m still working on Tiger Eye and have now printed out Dragon Masque (the first novel in the series) so that I can start on edits.

Yea you heard that right–I’m starting on edits for this series.

On top of that you have holidays, craziness with dayjob and an entire host of other things that come at me like a B-52 bomber low on fuel and needing a target.

But you know what, I’m not going to worry about completing 50,000 words this year. I’ve got a lot on my plate and am very satisfied with what I’ve accomplished over the past few months.  Tiger Eye may not be finished, but it is nearly there.  The goal of NaNo is to get writers to write, not just talk about writing. And while I do talk about writing quite a bit (especially over the last few months here on my blog) I have been getting it done.

So good luck NaNoites!  I’ll be cheering you on, and racing you to the 50 deadlines I’ve got for the next few weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

