It’s NaNo time again!


Yes, it is indeed time again for the National Novel Writing Month or NaNo for short. It is the month where writers from all over the globe test their fingers, minds and their ability to write and put 50,000 words on the page.  It is a crazy time where you tie your inner editor up, stick her in the corner and let your muse go crazy.  To keep pace a writer will need to write about 1700 words a day to hit that 50K mark.

Sounds easy enough right?

Well it can be.

Time management in this case is your friend.  Hopefully before NaNo, each writer has written down ideas or outlined their story.  It is at least a guide on where to go and makes the job so much easier. If you haven’t (and don’t worry there’s lots of discovery and pantsers out there) then maybe pick out some key plot points that need to happen.

Then decide how much you are going to write and when.

For me, though I get up early, I can’t write in the mornings. My head simply doesn’t wrap itself around the idea of the story until well after noon. So for me I try to get work things done (dayjob (M-F), extra writing assignments, or beading and such) done before noon if I am home. Once lunch is over, it’s time to open my work in progress (WIP) and settle down. (and yes I do often write on my lunch hour while at work)

For me, 2000 words could take an hour or two depending on where I’m at in the story.  For instance action scenes go really quickly. Introspective passages take longer as I’m trying to capture the character’s thoughts and feelings.

I like to break the writing down into sections of 700 or so words that usually take between 20 and 30 minutes. This way I have a break so I can unconsciously plan out the next section. (and yes most of my writing is planned in the back of my head as I’m doing other things). In this way I can often hit that 2,000 word goal in just a few short sessions.

So, it is okay to break down your word count into manageable chunks.

Leave a Reply

