Happy New Year!


Hello everyone and welcome to 2014. I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season, but it’s time to get back to work.

While I didn’t get everything that I wanted to get done finished for 2013, I’ve made progress. For me that’s what counts.

I’ve read over 600 slush stories ranging from 500 to 7,000 words this year for the small publishers I work for.  If you are wanting to improve your writing, become a slush reader. Look at the stories that end up in the slush piles, then look at your own. You will learn a LOT!

I’ve submitted stories again. One has been accepted and will be published in February at Lakeside Circus. One is still pending. The others are sitting and waiting to see what I’m going to do with them.

I’ve got another novel nearly drafted. Currently standing at about 75,000 words, Tiger Eye is nearing the endgame. I’m still floundering a bit as to what actually happens but I got wordage.

I’ve finished a few pieces of beadwork and have started on a beading book. It’s a bit slower than writing a novel as I keep having to go back and revise and redo.  I do know that this isn’t going to be a step by step book.  It is going to be more of a creative guideline book that perhaps other beaders step out of the box.

I can say now that I know the basics of knitting. I learned to crochet when I was little, but knitting has always been a realm I had never set foot upon. I can’t do anything fancy yet, but I’m happy with basics right now.

I posted a lot here on my blog. I made nearly 70 posts this year and I reached over 4,000 different viewers. My best month was October with over 600 views. While I didn’t post a lot in December, my numbers were still over 300 viewers.

So what am I going to do with the next 365 days?

Well, I’m going to continue working on my writing first of all. My goals for January are:

  • Submit at least 3 other short stories to markets
  • Begin rewrites/edits on 1 novel or novelette
  • Draft and finish at least 2 short stories
  • Keep better track of how many words I write
  • More freelancing opportunities

Next I have a few fiber related projects to finish

  • Finish the two bracelets I have
  • Finish knitting projects
  • finish crochet projects
  • work on beading book

For me it is too difficult to say exactly what I’ll be working on over the next few weeks as my life is often chaotic and I do tend to jump around from project to project.  I’ll try to post updates at the end of the month.

I’m looking forward to the possibilities in the next few months.  So how about you?

Leave a Reply

