The road to changes (in otherwords organizing my head)


If anyone knows me personally, they can verify that I am not the most organized of people.  What can I say, I love chaos.  I have piles of papers, stacks of books, baskets of yarn and a variety of unorganized sections. I have never been good at organization. Heck even my mind tends to jump from topic to unrelated topic.

Over the past few months I’ve been trying to get more organized.  The first step was a planner. It’s been a great tool to help me keep track of writing, reading and other work.

For 2014, I plan to add to that.  I’ve picked up a lovely spreadsheet from Jaimie Raintree. I’ve not gotten very far on writing so far this year, however, it is pretty nice to see graphs and word counts growing. I think that feature alone will keep me going back to this lovely spreadsheet.

Another thing I’m going to start using some sort of scheduler so that I can block out portions of time.

You see, I’m getting a bit more freelance work now, and I need to be able to accurately record and commit my time for projects. With the ghost writing, possible editing work and a new secret project, I need to be able to keep track of time and be more efficient.  I know the google suite has one of these, but if anyone has any other suggestions please let me know.

Lastly, I can’t wait until warmer weather. Once some semblance of spring gets here, I’m going to organize the garage so I can move my beads out to the studio and put my yarn in tubs where the cats won’t get to them. I think having a dedicated workspace will help me immensely in the long run.

So what are some items you use when you need to organize your head and your time?  I’d love to hear back from you.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

