One last week


So at the beginning of the month I posted that I’d have 4 submissions out in the world by the end of the month. My current total is 3.

I have 1 story to go.

I’m very happy that I’ve made this much progress so far. I’ve picked out my last victim  story to revise. However, the story that I want to submit is going to need a major overhaul. It started out as a flash story over at Shock Totem a few years ago.  It’s Urban Fantasy and if I can get it straightened out in time, I can have it submitted to an anthology. I’ve got my work cut out for me on this one as it will need quite a bit of work in a very short amount of time.

I submitted my third story yesterday to the Women Destroy Fantasy over at Lightspeed/Fantasy Magazine. Kind of proud that I pretty much did a full 6300 word story in only a few weeks. I kept it under the max word count though if I ever come back to it, I’m sure there’s at least a novella or even a novel in this one.

Story #2 came back with a rejection. Not really sure where to send it next but I’ll get it out the door before next week again.

The first story that I subbed this month was a flash piece for the Shock Totem bi-monthly flash contest. (Yes that counts!) I’ll have comments and voting on those submitted later today.  If you ever get a chance to participate, I’d highly recommend it. Great fun and you can see where you stand. (I’m only a mediocre flash writer but there are some really great writers on there. I’m still learning even after 3 years lol)

So that leads me to what I want to do for next month.  Four stories in 1 month was doable although I’m going to squeak by on submission #4 by the skin of my teeth. I think I’ll go with 2 submissions for next month and gradually build myself up to 10 submissions out at all times by June.  This leaves me time to consider markets and maybe plan ahead a bit more.

In the mean time, I’ve got a loom beaded cuff to finish before the middle of April. More work for Apocalypse Ink Productions (did you see the new cover by Larry Dixon?). And whatever else the world decided to throw at me.

Leave a comment