Spring is finally here… I think


Winter is often a dreary time. It’s cold, sometimes wet and uncomfortable. I don’t like being cold. My joints ache and I feel stiff all the time. Because of the longer nights, my sleep schedule slips off kilter and I usually get insomnia more often.

But this week I can see spring has arrived. Daffodils have bloomed in my yard and the Surprise Lilly have grown their thick foliage. The front yard is in a serious need of a trim and the local spring trees are blooming.  It also means my allergies have been acting up a bit.

This weekend I spent several hours getting some seeds started. In a few weeks I’ll have:

  • Tomatoes
  • cucumbers
  • peas
  • green beans
  • cantaloupe
  • watermelon
  • Lettuce
  • Spinach
  • herbs

This summer we are going to try straw bale gardening. Because we rent, I don’t want to spend a lot of  money getting new dirt hauled into the back yard. The soil isn’t that great, and even though we didn’t put out a garden last year, the nutrients haven’t had time to recover from the first garden. Straw bales are relatively cheap (especially if I find some that have been set out over the winter to age) and I can use not only the tops but the sides of the bales to plant in. It certainly can’t hurt to try it this year.

So perhaps this week, we’ll start getting bales and B will start on the boxes for my onions and flowers. With the scraps I’ll be building some bee boxes and places for nice bugs to shelter in.

In the mean time, I’ll be watching the weather. It snowed here yesterday but luckily I don’t have to worry about seedlings yet. Worst case scenario, I’ll have to toss a tarp over the plants if it frosts again.

So what are your gardening plans for this year?  Vegies? Flowers?

Leave a Reply

