All the Flavors of the Reading Rainbow


There’s no hiding the fact that I like to read (and write for that matter). There’s a lot of different reasons why and a post that touched on all of them would probably take an hour of your time. But this is a post about all of the different flavors of books and stories out there.

Reading for me started with those Little Golden Books that my parents could pick up for pocket change. By kindergarten I was tearing through them and reading to my younger siblings. I read fairy tales, books about trucks, and especially books on horses. Later on in grade school I found Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys. The library quickly ran out of those for me to read. By the time I hit junior high, I had developed a taste for horror and had a collection of Stephen King. In between I read some of the classics, Frankenstein, The Time Machine, and 1984.

Reading came easy for me. But it doesn’t for others. My oldest struggled with reading for a long time. Not because he had difficulty in the words or phrases, but because his body was always being distracted by outside stimulus. He couldn’t stay still or keep focus for more than a few minutes at a time. On the other hand, my youngest was much like me, reading everything he could get his hands on.

Now they both read, although differently than when they were little. Oldest reads comics, books on WWII, and some of the more popular YA titles. Youngest loves manuals (he’s going to be a mechanic.) But they still read.

That makes me happy.

What makes me happier is that there’s such a range of things for people to read. It’s pretty obvious as to my tastes. Anything in the speculative fiction genre will do. On occasion I’ll pick up a romance or even some chick lit. Other people in my family enjoy history books and mysteries. The world of books contains so many genres, sub genres and stories that fit into hard to describe niches that it’s difficult to imagine not finding something someone would like to read about.

And if you don’t want to sit and read, what about having a story read to you? Audio books fill in that (to me) very necessary down time for the mind.  Hey, I’m even taking a leap of faith and co-writing an audio drama.

I want you to read my stories. However, if what I write isn’t to your taste, that’s fine. There’s such a wide range of books and stories that I’m sure that you’ll find something you like. You just got to look.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

