Exercise progress


A few months ago I mentioned that I was going to start walking again to not only get my weight back under control but for some pain management issues.  I’ve been a good girl and walking about 5 days a week for 3 miles. It’s a nice little hike with hills and long stretches through my little town that I live in. I try to do it in the mornings since it’s quiet and I get a better start for the day.

At first it hurt. I hadn’t been exercising regularly for nearly a year. Muscles protested, joints ached, but then suddenly I was over the hump. I had one really bad day then things settled down. Since then, I’ve only had some minor aches related more to joint issues than pain from muscles.

While I don’t know how much weight I’ve lost, I know I’ve lost some. I don’t have a scale (not even sure if I want to get one) so it’s easy not to obsess over pounds. I do know that I’ve lost some weight because my clothes are fitting differently. I can button some of my pants with ease and my shirts fit better. I hope over the next few months that things will continue.

But something I realize is: I’m never going to be model skinny. I don’t want to get that thin. It’s not that I have anything against skinny people. The truth is, I don’t want to work that hard. I know quite a few people who enjoy working out until they reach a certain weight or can run a certain amount of miles. It takes a lot of will power and dedication to do that. It takes a lot of TIME to do that.

I’m not willing to pull away more time than I already have to do that, at least not at this moment. I’ve got a lot on my plate as it is. I’m writing, editing, crafting with beads and yarn, doing PR and PA stuff plus working a day job. That leaves my plate pretty full most of the time. Add in relationships, teenagers and the few friend things I do, my calendar gets full pretty darn quickly.

But it’s not just a time factor. I also enjoy my curves. Note, I’d like them to be a bit more defined, but only to an extent. I like how my clothes fit at certain weight points. Once I drop below that clothes only drape across my body like a sheet. I’m not fond of that.

So I’m not going to turn into a stick anytime soon. I love to eat, although I’ve cut back portions to help with weight regulation. I like how I look, though it could use a little definition. I want to be fit enough I can do what I want without worrying if I’ll have to sit down to catch my breath. I’d like to be able to move without a lot of pain.

And that’s what I’ve accomplished in a few short weeks. Now on to the next phase of muscle building. Not much, just toning. Light weights and lots of reps.

One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

