No NaNo for me.


It is that time again where authors begin to pace the floors, sharpen their pencils and stretch their creativity. If you’ve never experienced this mad rush, let me tell you about NaNo.

NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days and it always happens in November. From the first to the last, you are supposed to write 1,700-1,800 words a day to meet that goal. There are  prizes and gatherings and lots of writing advice over on the site. And it’s not just for adults. Aspiring kids can also participate in a special section.

The purpose of NaNo is to get people to shut off the inner editor and simply write. Some writers have difficulty in turning off the inner editor which leads to frustration and to their mind poor word counts. While the inner editor is very important, sometimes you simply need to stuff a sock in it while you write. NaNo encourages people to write as quickly as they can for a straight 30 days. No editing, no going back. Simply sit and type.

I’ve participated a few times, and yes it was great fun. However, there is no way I can participate this year.

I do think I’ve done well this year.

  • I’ve written 11 new stories ranging from 1,000 to 24,000 words
  • 7 of those are currently out on submissions
  • I’ve been sending out 4 older stories for a total of 13 out
  • Three of my stories were released this year including my only sale of 2014*
  • The blog has been updated at least once a week most of this year 🙂
  • I’ve been working on new venues such as a serial blog (Space Marine Gerbils) and an audio drama
  • Over at Crossed Genres I’m still the Slush Crusher
  • Learning the PA/PR ropes over at Apocalypse Ink Productions with Jennifer Brozek has been a great experience
  • Plus I’ve got some other projects I can’t talk about yet

Trying to fit in 50,000 words just isn’t in the cards for me right now. There’s all of the end of the year stuff, I’m working on Christmas presents, and all of the other crazy stuff that the holidays bring.

So while I will be writing and editing next month, it won’t be for NaNo. But for those of you who are: Good LUCK!

 

the other two are “The Coin Whisperer” over at Abyss & Apex and “Ordinary Hero” at Lakeside Circus

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

