So it’s been a couple of weeks


since I last posted.  Bad author bad bad bad.  Things got busy, then I got sick, then had a work conference, then was simply exhausted and so on and so forth. I didn’t get back to this blog for a bit, but now I’ve got some energy back and my fingers are twitching since I haven’t written things on here in a while.

So what’s been up?

Well, besides the above, things have been going well.  I’m now a minion for Evil Girlfriend Media. I’ll be handling some promotions and such for them. I’ve also lined up a few future editing jobs for 2015. Mostly I’m continuing to learn about publishing and becoming a full time freelancer/writer/artist.

I’m getting there slowly, however I’ve realized something. While I touch on some difficult topics in my stories, I don’t touch on them here on my blog. Why?  Well because I’m a cautious person by nature and that’s been reinforced by some of the people I’ve been around in the past.  It was much easier to keep my thoughts to myself than to have to argue and face ridicule.

But, I’ve realized that staying silent about some of these things is part of the problem.  Being silent is another form of consent. Not taking a stand means that you support whatever atrocities is going on even if you are protesting in your head.  Not speaking out won’t change what is going on.

So, 2015 is going to be filled with more thoughts on what is going on in the world and how I feel about these things. Look for posts on feminism, gay rights, the right of women to have abortions, literacy, an a whole slew of other issues.

What I promise is to try to have some meaningful discussions; however, I’m not going to be bullied. Comments will be moderated. If you aren’t polite, I either won’t post your comments, or I’ll do something similar to Scalzi’s kitten setting. Sure you can have a different opinion. That’s great. I’ll be happy to discuss any of the topics that I put here on the blog, but don’t cross certain lines.  I’ll put up a post about how I will handle the situations if they arise in a few weeks.

The topics will be listed clearly, so if you don’t want to read them, that’s fine too. I’m not going to be insulted. I’ll still have plenty of posts up about what I’m reading, writing and creating. But remember this is my blog, my place to share my thoughts and it’s about time I started doing that instead of playing it safe.

 

Leave a Reply

