Sorry for the Radio Silence


There are times when I get busy and I forget to come back to the blog and post.  The past 6 weeks has been one of those time.  There’s a lot to be excited about, some I can talk about, some I can’t. But I can say it’s all good news and stuff that will continue to keep me busy and happy for a while longer.

First, I want to update you on my very first writing convention.

The end of June I flew out to Phoenix and attended LepreCon with Jennifer Brozek.  She was a guest of honor and had room for her PA.  It was great finally meeting my writing boss face to face. LepreCon was a small convention for gamers, writers and cosplayers and I felt right at home. I met some wonderful artists and writers and saw a lot of great costumes. The staff was awesome and treated everyone like family. If you get invited to attend, definitely give it a shot.

I’ve been rewriting one of my short stories. “Somewhere in Between” had a lot of “good but not quite” rejection slips last year. Mainly because of the convention and some writing discussions, I’m rewriting it. I’m working towards making the MC’s goals more clear and cutting out a lot of the unnecessary information that builds the world but doesn’t move the story forward.  I’m trying to keep it under 4 acts and 5K words. Right now I’m about half way there.

I was asked to be a slush reader for Mothership Zeta, a fun new market. Submissions are open until July 25 so if you have a fun speculative fiction story, send it soon!

Minioning is going well.  Being a PA and coordinating PR along with some editing and other projects keep me busy at night and on the weekends.  I really do encourage people to volunteer  in the writing world. You gain great insights and learn about publishing so much faster. It also opens up so many opportunities. All of which I have enjoyed and been grateful to participate in.

Because it was suggested, I might just start some articles on being a publishing minion.  I’ll let you know when and where they appear.

It’s also very clear that I’ll be needing more than just a blog.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to purchase a couple of domain names and start looking for a host for my new website.  It will have 3 main parts. My writing. Being a minion for hire. Art (including beadwork and such)  I’ll also have to have 3 separate business cards made up.  Can’t wait to play around with some images for those.

Speaking of opportunities, there’s still a few things I need to do. I’ve got to get with an author friend and see if he’s still willing to teach me book formatting.  Yes I could probably learn on my own, but this author spoke of some fancier things a few months ago and I want to learn that too, not just stumble clumsily through until I get it.

So if you haven’t noticed, I’m working more towards freelancing.  It’s something I really enjoy, I’m good at, and it fulfills that creative side I’ve not gotten with other jobs. I’m not to the point where I can do it full time but it’s coming.

Since there’s a few projects coming up I will be posting more.  Keep a watch out!

Leave a Reply

