Why do you write?


Ms. Mercedes asked a very valid question this morning that got me to thinking.

Why Do I Write?

Well, I guess there are lots of reasons.

First of all I love to read.  Literally, I will read anything once and it is up to that author to convince me to pick it up again or grab another book of theirs. I am a voracious reader.  I can read a 400 page novel in about 6 hours.  I can go though 5 novels a week if I so choose and I have before.  I have been known to stay up until the wee hours of the morning because I did not want to put a book down.

At age 15 I had read all of the fantasy, science fiction, horror and thriller books in our small library.  Even then I always hated endings that didn’t pull the story completely together.  I always wondered what happened after the words “the end.”  I tried clumsy stories at about that time.

I like to create and build things whether from beads, thread, paper, pencil or words.  I enjoy starting out with lots of pieces and figuring out how they work together. I enjoy how what I make effects the people that read and see it.

I have all of these ideas running around in my head.  Seriously, some might think I were deranged if they saw what all goes on in there.  Flickers of ideas on plots, characters, settings mixed with ongoing scenes like a movie in my head.  I see my ideas.  I really do.  I mentally involve myself in this world so that I can accurately describe what is going on.

So there are lots of reasons why I like to write.  I think a part of me, the dreamer part, is born to it.  I cannot imagine not having a pen and notebook or computer available so that I can write.  I cannot imagine me not writing.

These are some of my reasons,  what are yours?

2 responses to “Why do you write?

  1. I read all of the books in our small library, too! You and I should camp out under a tree and read together.

    I write because I psychologically ache if I don’t. Something is lacking in my life.

    Like

Leave a comment